Dillon Shewchuk awarded SREDA’s 2022 Bruce Richet Award

SREDA is pleased to announce this year’s annual Bruce Richet Award recipient as Dillon Shewchuk, Community Economic Development Manager at the City of Martensville. The award celebrates individuals for their outstanding contributions and commitment to regional economic development.

The award was created in 2016 to recognize the exceptional service of Bruce Richet, who represented the Saskatoon Region on the SREDA Board of Directors beginning in 1995. Richet served on all internal committees, chaired the Regional Committee and, in 2013, became the Board Chairman. He provided leadership to the SREDA Regional Committee for over 20 years and took on the important role of getting member communities prepared for growth through regional planning.

The award was presented to Dillon Shewchuk at Martensville’s Committee of the Whole meeting on August 9.

Dillon has played an integral role in the City of Martensville’s growth over the past 13 years and has been a key stakeholder in the surrounding Regions prosperity. Dillon has served on numerous boards, and committees focused on regional economic development, including the Saskatchewan Economic Developers Alliance (SEDA) Board, SREDA Regional Committee, and the MidSask Community Futures Board.

“Dillon is a ‘keener’ that understands the moods of the local economy and is a strategic influencer when it comes to anticipating growth,” said Bruce Richet. “This intelligent, hardworking and humble young man from Saskatchewan found his place within the regional economic growth center of the province and every day shows his passion for helping existing and new businesses succeed.

“Over the last few years, we’ve witnessed the growth of Martensville and the impact this has had on the entire region. Dillon has played a key role in this, and we are pleased to recognize his long-standing dedication to growing our regional economy with this award,” said Alex Fallon, SREDA Team Lead and CEO.

Nominations for the next Bruce Richet Award will open in 2023.

Kristen Johannesson

Director, Operations & Board Liaison (Interim)
(306) 664-0720